The shop is open: gear and fresh beans, shipped by the brand that made them
ShopCoffee
← Back to Gear
Gear · Café equipment

Café starter setups: what a small coffee bar needs at $3,000, $7,000 and $15,000.

Three complete setups, every part priced from the maker's or a US dealer's page on October 22, 2026. The $3,000 cart or pop-up runs from a tank on a 120-volt outlet: $2,677.92. The $7,000 shared-space bar is plumbed and adds a batch brewer: $6,824.89. The $15,000 first café is a two-group machine on 220 volts: $14,838.40. Each table says what the money buys, what it cannot do, and what the electrician will ask.

Every price is the list price shown on the page we name, read October 22, 2026; sale prices are noted where a page showed one. The full list is under Sources.

We are never paid for a review. Some links earn ShopCoffee a small commission at no cost to you. Details

● Published October 22, 2026 · prices read October 22, 2026Next review: January 2027Prices and models move — tell us if something here is stale

How we built these

What this is: three shopping lists (machine, grinder, water, knockbox, tamper, pitchers, scale, cleaning, cups, first bags), priced the same day from the pages we link. Where a page states voltage, amperage, plug or water connection, we copy it; where it does not, we say so.

What this is not: a bench test or a business plan. We have not run a bar on any of these machines; every performance claim is the maker's or dealer's own words, and the drinks-per-day bands are ours, matching our commercial grinder guide. Prices are list prices read October 22, 2026, from the maker's store where it has one, otherwise a named US dealer; three items are ours and marked. Commercial gear is quoted and discounted constantly: budget from this page, then get the dealer's number in writing.

Who this is for, by drinks per day

Start with the forecast, not the budget: count the espresso drinks on your busiest day.

The shops in our café finder are your competition and your reference; for beans rather than machines, read the bulk coffee page.

The three setups

Under 50 drinks a day · tank · 120 V

$3,000: the cart or pop-up

Breville Dual Boiler + Turin DF64 Gen 2.7 · $2,677.92 at list prices, read October 22, 2026

A home dual-boiler on a cart is the right tool at this volume. Breville lists the Dual Boiler at $1,599.95 with a 58 mm portafilter, an integrated tamper, a 16 oz jug, a cleaning kit and a water filter in the box; Seattle Coffee Gear's listing gives 120 V, 15 A, 1700 W, an 84-ounce tank and a 2-year warranty. The grinder single-doses because the volume allows it; Turin's words for the DF64: built for coffee drinkers who weigh their beans for each brew.

PartWhatList priceRead from
MachineBreville Dual Boiler BES920XL, 120 V / 15 A, 84 oz tank$1,599.95breville.com
GrinderTurin DF64 Gen 2.7, single-dose, 64 mm flat burrs$599.00 regular ($399–$424 in stock, $354 pre-order sale)turingrinders.com
WaterBreville's in-tank filter and hardness strip, in the box; fill from a filtered jugincludedbreville.com
KnockboxBarista Basics Knockbox, 6" × 6" × 5"$48.00Espresso Parts
TamperBreville's integrated 58 mm tamperincludedbreville.com
PitchersBreville's 16 oz jug (included) + Barista Basics 12 oz$18.00Espresso Parts
ScaleHario V60 Drip Scale, 0.1 g to 2,000 g · ours$60.00our store
CleaningUrnex Cafiza 20 oz $10.99 + Rinza 1 L $29.99 + Grindz 430 g $32.99$73.97Prima, urnex.com
CupsKarat 12 oz paper hot cups × 1,000 $63.50 + 90 mm lids × 1,000 $38.50$102.00Lollicup
Starting bags2 × Stone Street Knee Buckling Espresso 5 lb, shipped by Stone Street · ours$177.00our store
Total$322.08 under $3,000$2,677.92

What it does

  • Ordinary 120 V, 15 A outlet; no plumbing
  • Brews and steams at once
  • One dose at a time, so a changing menu wastes nothing

What it cannot do

  • Keep up with a rush: one group, hand-dosed, a tank to refill
  • Batch brew
  • Promise a commercial warranty: Breville sells it for the home; ask the dealer

To put the leftover into the machine, Seattle Coffee Gear lists the Rancilio Silvia Pro X at $2,195 (120 V, 15 A, 1000 W, 2 L tank, pitcher sold separately): about $3,273 all in. With no outlet at all, the hand-lever ROK EspressoGC Plus we sell is in our under-$500 espresso guide.

Check the Dual Boiler on Amazon $1,599.95 is Breville's list price on October 22, 2026; it discounts often.
50 to 150 drinks a day · plumbed · 110 V

$7,000: the shared-space bar

Nuova Simonelli Oscar Mood (direct connect) + Mazzer Mini + Fetco CBS-2231 NG · $6,824.89, read October 22, 2026

Here the machine gets plumbed and the grinder gets a hopper. Chris' Coffee lists the Oscar Mood at $2,550 in both versions (110 V, 1200 W, 10 A, NEMA 5-15, 2 L boiler) and says both have commercial certifications; Majesty shows $3,150 regular, $2,550 sale. The dealers' words for who it is for: perfect for any low volume location (Chris' Coffee), perfect for small trade (Majesty). The Mazzer Mini is $1,295 new at Prima, which calls it especially well-suited for mobile coffee carts, small cafes, and home baristas. The leftover buys what shared-space bars forget: a Fetco batch brewer, its dispenser and a grinder for it.

PartWhatList priceRead from
MachineNuova Simonelli Oscar Mood, direct connect, 110 V / 10 A, NEMA 5-15, 2 L boiler$2,550.00 (Majesty: $3,150 regular, $2,550 sale)Chris' Coffee, Majesty
Espresso grinderMazzer Mini, 350 W, 64 mm flat steel burrs, 280 g hopper$1,295.00Prima
Water3M ESP124-T espresso filtration, 0.5 GPM, 1,100 grains (out of stock the day we read it)$126.49WebstaurantStore
Batch brewerFetco CBS-2231 NG, 1-gallon batch, 120 V / 13 A configuration; dispenser not included$1,491.99 (range to $1,784.99)Prima
DispenserFetco LGD-10 LUXUS 1 gallon, stand included$392.99WebstaurantStore
Filter grinderBaratza Encore ESP, a home grinder (see below)$199.95baratza.com
KnockboxBarista Basics Knockbox, 6" × 10" × 5"$55.00Espresso Parts
TamperBarista Basics Stealth 58 mm flat (neither Oscar Mood page states portafilter size; confirm with the dealer)$40.00Espresso Parts
PitchersBarista Basics 12 oz $18 + 2 × 20 oz $20$58.00Espresso Parts
ScaleHario V60 Drip Scale · ours$60.00our store
CleaningCafiza, Rinza, Grindz as above; add a blind basket and group brush from the dealer, not priced here$73.97Prima, urnex.com
CupsKarat 12 oz × 1,000 + 90 mm lids × 1,000$102.00Lollicup
Starting bags3 × Knee Buckling Espresso 5 lb $88.50 + 1 × Espresso Decaffeinato 5 lb $114 · ours$379.50our store
Total$175.11 under $7,000$6,824.89

What it does

  • Standard NEMA 5-15 plugs throughout; no 220 V circuit
  • Plumbed espresso plus a gallon of batch coffee at a time
  • Decaf from day one

What it cannot do

  • Carry the top of the band: the dealers say low volume and small trade. At 150 a day the machine is the one-group Appia Life Volumetric, $6,050 at Espresso Parts (110 V, 13 A, NEMA 5-15, water and drain required), which alone eats this budget
  • Grind for batch at café pace: Baratza's Encore ESP page says nothing about commercial use; the Forte AP ($849.95) adds $650
  • Ship today: filter out of stock, brewer built to order, Oscar Mood showing sold-out icons at both dealers

The other one-group sold both tank and plumbed is the Ascaso Baby T Plus, $6,245 on ascaso-usa.com (sold out today): 120 V, 1710 W, 14.3 A, a 2 L tank or direct plumb, a 24-month commercial warranty, and in Ascaso's words it requires a 20 amp NEMA 5-20R. A better machine, with nothing left for a grinder.

See the Oscar Mood at Chris' Coffee $2,550 at Chris' Coffee on October 22, 2026; Majesty shows $3,150 regular. Ask which version and price is current.
150 to 300 drinks a day · plumbed · 220 V

$15,000: the first small café

Nuova Simonelli Appia Life 2 Group Volumetric + Mahlkönig E65T GbS + Eureka Mignon Specialita · $14,838.40, read October 22, 2026

Two groups so two drinks pull at once, and a grinder built for the shift. Espresso Parts lists the Appia Life 2 Group Volumetric at $10,400: 220 V, a 17 amp draw, NEMA 6-20, an 11 L boiler, a 2-year warranty and a linked pre-install sheet for your electrician and plumber. Mahlkönig's US store lists the E65T GbS at $2,499: 110–127 V, 580 W, 65 mm steel burrs, about 1,200 g of hopper, 5 to 6 g per second, designed for professionals who prioritize consistency and efficiency. A Eureka Mignon Specialita ($549 at Seattle Coffee Gear, warranted for commercial use one year parts and labor) grinds decaf so the main grinder is never re-dialed.

PartWhatList priceRead from
MachineNuova Simonelli Appia Life 2 Group Volumetric, 220 V / 17 A, NEMA 6-20, 11 L boiler$10,400.00Espresso Parts
Espresso grinderMahlkönig E65T GbS, 65 mm steel burrs, ~1,200 g hopper$2,499.00mahlkoenig.us
Decaf grinderEureka Mignon Specialita, 55 mm burrs, 12 oz hopper$549.00Seattle Coffee Gear
Water3M ESP124-T espresso filtration, 0.5 GPM, 1,100 grains$126.49WebstaurantStore
KnockboxRhino Square Knock Chute, through the counter to a bin (needs a cut-out)$62.95Prima
Tampers2 × Barista Basics Stealth 58 mm $40 + small mat $15$95.00Espresso Parts
Pitchers2 × 12 oz $18, 2 × 20 oz $20, 1 × 32 oz $23$99.00Espresso Parts
ScaleAcaia Lunar, 2,000 g, 0.1 g / 0.01 g, 2-year warranty$250.00acaia.co
Cleaning2 × Cafiza $10.99 + Rinza $29.99 + Grindz $32.99$84.96Prima, urnex.com
Cups2 × 1,000 Karat 12 oz cups $63.50 + 2 × 1,000 lids $38.50$204.00Lollicup
Starting bags4 × Knee Buckling Espresso 5 lb $88.50 + 1 × Espresso Decaffeinato 5 lb $114 · ours$468.00our bulk shelf
Total$161.60 under $15,000$14,838.40

What it does

  • Two drinks at once from an 11 L boiler
  • A grinder its maker describes for professionals
  • Decaf on its own grinder

What it cannot do

  • Batch brew: a Fetco CBS-2231 NG ($1,491.99–$1,784.99), LGD-10 dispenser ($392.99) and Forte AP grinder ($849.95) add about $2,735 to $3,028
  • Run on a household circuit: 220 V, NEMA 6-20
  • State its plumbing on the listing: the two-group page does not; the one-group page says water and drain required
See the Appia Life 2 Group at Espresso Parts $10,400 at Espresso Parts on October 22, 2026. Two-group machines are quoted; get the number and the freight in writing.

Power and plumbing: the numbers the landlord asks for

Copied from the page in the last column, read October 22, 2026; a blank means the page did not state it. Hand it to the electrician and the plumber with the maker's pre-install sheet.

MachineVoltsAmpsWattsPlugWaterPage
Breville Dual Boiler12015170084 oz tankSeattle Coffee Gear
Rancilio Silvia Pro X1201510002 L tankSeattle Coffee Gear
NS Oscar Mood110101200NEMA 5-15Direct connect, or 3 L tank (pour-over version)Chris' Coffee
Ascaso Baby T Plus12014.31710Requires a 20 amp NEMA 5-20R2 L tank or direct plumbAscaso USA
NS Appia Life 1 Group110133500 (boiler)NEMA 5-15Water connection required: yes. Drain required: yesEspresso Parts
NS Appia Life 2 Group220173400 (boiler)NEMA 6-20Not stated; pre-install sheet linkedEspresso Parts
Fetco CBS-2231 NG12013 (1.5 kW config)1500Cord and plug3/8" male flare, 20–75 psig, 1.5 gpm minimumPrima, fetco.com
Mahlkönig E65T GbS110–127580nonemahlkoenig.us
Mazzer Mini350nonePrima
Eureka Mignon Specialita120260noneSeattle Coffee Gear
Turin DF64 Gen 2.7110–120250noneturingrinders.com
3M ESP124-T filterno power0.5 GPM, 1,100 grains, 3/8" FNPT in and outWebstaurantStore

Every one-group here runs on a standard-pattern plug except the Baby T Plus, which Ascaso says needs a 20-amp receptacle; only the two-group needs 220 volts. Plumbed means a water line through a filter and, on the Appia Life, a drain. Whether one 0.5 GPM cartridge should feed both the espresso machine and the brewer is a question for the plumber and 3M; we have not read a spec that answers it.

What this page does not cover

Permits. Your city and county health department set what a cart, a shared kitchen or a café must have and what the licence costs; nothing here is a permit fee. Furniture and build-out. Counters, the sinks the health code requires, refrigeration for milk, signage and the cart itself are in no total, and are often the larger number. POS. A register, a card reader and the monthly software fee are their own budget; we have not priced them. Freight, installation, plumbing and electrical sit on top of every total.

How to buy it

New, from a dealer who services what it sells. The prices here came from Espresso Parts, Prima Coffee, Seattle Coffee Gear, Chris' Coffee, Majesty Coffee, WebstaurantStore and Lollicup, and from the makers' stores. For anything with a boiler, the dealer's service and the maker's pre-install sheet matter more than the last fifty dollars; our commercial grinder guide makes the same case for grinders, and the espresso grinder guide covers the prosumer models in the first two setups.

Through our store, where we carry it. The Hario V60 Drip Scale and the Stone Street 5 lb bags ship from our store today, packed by the maker and the roaster; the whole bulk shelf is 5 lb bags with no account to open, and the bulk coffee page explains standing orders.

Financing exists. Prima Coffee's financing page, read October 22, 2026, is headed Personal and Commercial Financing Available and names Bread Pay, recommended for smaller, residential purchases under $5,000, and Approve Payments, for transactions anywhere from $5,000 to millions with a soft credit pull. It states no rates or terms, and neither do we; we are not a lender.

Common questions

How much does it cost to equip a small coffee shop?

At list prices read October 22, 2026: $2,677.92 for a one-group cart on a 120-volt outlet, $6,824.89 for a plumbed shared-space bar with a batch brewer, $14,838.40 for a two-group first café. None includes freight, installation, plumbing, electrical work, permits, furniture or a register.

Can I start a coffee cart for $3,000?

The equipment, yes: the $3,000 setup runs from a tank on a 120-volt, 15-amp outlet, by Seattle Coffee Gear's listing for the Breville Dual Boiler. It does not buy the cart, a permit, a sink or a generator, and Breville sells the machine for the home, so ask the dealer about warranty on a cart first.

Do I need 220 volts for an espresso machine?

Not for one group: the Oscar Mood is listed at 110 volts, 10 amps, NEMA 5-15, and the one-group Appia Life at 110 volts, 13 amps, NEMA 5-15. The Ascaso Baby T Plus is 120 volts but requires, in Ascaso's words, a 20 amp NEMA 5-20R. The two-group Appia Life is 220 volts, 17 amps, NEMA 6-20: a dedicated circuit an electrician installs.

Tank or plumbed: which do I want?

A tank machine (Dual Boiler, 84 ounces; Silvia Pro X, 2 liters) needs no plumbing, but someone refills it all day. A plumbed machine needs a water line, a filter and, for the Appia Life, a drain, both listed as required on Espresso Parts' one-group page. The Oscar Mood and the Baby T Plus are sold both ways.

Which grinder does a café need?

Prima calls the Mazzer Mini especially well-suited for mobile coffee carts, small cafes, and home baristas; Mahlkönig says the E65T GbS is designed for professionals who prioritize consistency and efficiency, with about 1,200 g of hopper and 5 to 6 g per second. Turin's DF64 is built for coffee drinkers who weigh their beans for each brew, so it appears only in the under-50 setup. Our commercial grinder guide has the throughput bands.

Does the price include delivery and installation?

No. Every figure is the list price on the maker's or dealer's page on October 22, 2026, before freight, installation, plumbing, electrical work or sales tax. The Fetco brewer is built to order and usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks; the Appia Life pages link a pre-installation sheet for your plumber and electrician.

Get a quote through us

Tell us the drinks you expect on your busiest day, whether the space has a water line, and which setup is closest. A person answers within a business day with what we can supply from our store, what we would send you to a dealer for, and that day's prices. No form, no promises on price.

Email [email protected], subject "Café setup quote"

Sources, read 2026-10-22

Not read today, and so not quoted: Nuova Simonelli's own Oscar Mood page (it would not render), the Appia Life two-group pre-install sheet (linked from the dealer page, not opened), and any price for the Rancilio Classe 5 USB, which appeared only in search snippets. We have not operated any of this equipment; the words about what each machine is for are the makers' and dealers'.

Shop 5 lb bags from the roasters Read the commercial grinder guide →